National Quality Framework

The National Quality Framework (NQF) is a national system for the regulation and quality assessment of child care and early learning services, and is designed to encourage continuous improvement of education and care services across Australia.

The NQF sets out a series of National Quality Standards (NQS) against which all early childhood education and care services are assessed and given a rating.

The seven quality areas are:

1. Educational program and practice.
2. Children’s health and safety.
3. The physical environment.
4. Staffing arrangements.
5. Relationships with children.
6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities.
7. Leadership and service management.

The Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA) guides and oversees the implementation of the NQF. The ACECQA website is the primary source of information on the NQF and NQS, and contains the Education and Care National Regulations.